parliament_logoDespite Refugee Action’s apparently successful judicial challenge of the rate of asylum support payments an internal Home Office review has concluded there is no need to alter the basic rate of asylum support payments. They have even suggested that  to equalise payments to parents for  children by reducing the rates for under 16 year olds. 

Currently 16 and 17 year old rate is £39.80  whereas under 16 year olds the rate is £52.96. Still Human Still Here will continue to lobby on this issue.

We are encouraged to write to our MPs  to sign Early Day Motion 99 calling for an increase in support  rates to a least 70% of Income Support. 89 MPs have signed so far:http://www.parliament.uk/edm/2014-15/99

Early day motion 99


That this House notes the High Court judgment of 9 April 2014 (Refugee Action v Secretary of State for the Home Department) which states that the Government’s assessment of the amount needed by asylum seekers to meet their essential living needs is flawed and further notes the Government’s decision not to appeal this ruling; is concerned as stated in the judgment, that asylum support rates have not been increased since April 2011 and that the majority of those on asylum support receive just £5.23 a day to pay for essentials such as food, clothing and toiletries; further notes that asylum seekers spend an average of 18 months on this support and are almost never allowed to work; believes this is detrimental to the well-being of refugees including children; is particularly concerned that children aged 16 and 17 years are treated as adults for the purposes of asylum support making it difficult to participate fully in education; and calls on the Government to raise asylum support rates to at least 70 per cent of income support – the equivalent of £7.17 a day for most adult asylum seekers – and to increase this in line with inflation annually.

Showing 89 out of 89

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Abbott, Diane Labour Party Hackney North and Stoke Newington 23.06.2014
Anderson, David Labour Party Blaydon 23.06.2014
Barron, Kevin Labour Party Rother Valley 03.07.2014
Bayley, Hugh Labour Party York Central 30.06.2014
Blomfield, Paul Labour Party Sheffield Central 07.07.2014
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 16.06.2014
Campbell, Gregory Democratic Unionist Party Londonderry East 29.10.2014
Campbell, Menzies Liberal Democrats North East Fife 30.10.2014
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 19.06.2014
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 27.10.2014
Connarty, Michael Labour Party Linlithgow and East Falkirk 30.06.2014
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 18.06.2014
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 23.06.2014
Crockart, Mike Liberal Democrats Edinburgh West 21.07.2014
Cryer, John Labour Party Leyton and Wanstead 23.06.2014
Cunningham, Alex Labour Party Stockton North 26.06.2014
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 24.06.2014
Cunningham, Tony Labour Party Workington 02.07.2014
Davies, Geraint Labour Party Swansea West 01.07.2014
Dobson, Frank Labour Party Holborn and St Pancras 26.06.2014
Dodds, Nigel Democratic Unionist Party Belfast North 23.10.2014
Donaldson, Jeffrey Democratic Unionist Party Lagan Valley 10.09.2014
Doran, Frank Labour Party Aberdeen North 01.07.2014
Dowd, Jim Labour Party Lewisham West and Penge 25.06.2014
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 16.06.2014
Edwards, Jonathan Plaid Cymru Carmarthen East and Dinefwr 04.11.2014
Engel, Natascha Labour Party North East Derbyshire 21.07.2014
Farron, Tim Liberal Democrats Westmorland and Lonsdale 24.06.2014
Fitzpatrick, Jim Labour Party Poplar and Limehouse 10.11.2014
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 01.07.2014
Gapes, Mike Labour Party Ilford South 23.06.2014
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 18.06.2014
Gilbert, Stephen Liberal Democrats St Austell and Newquay 17.07.2014
Gilmore, Sheila Labour Party Edinburgh East 24.06.2014
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 19.06.2014
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 23.06.2014
Hamilton, Fabian Labour Party Leeds North East 06.11.2014
Hancock, Mike INDEPENDENT Portsmouth South 01.07.2014
Harris, Tom Labour Party Glasgow South 01.09.2014
Hemming, John Liberal Democrats Birmingham Yardley 27.10.2014
Hermon, Lady INDEPENDENT North Down 05.11.2014
Heyes, David Labour Party Ashton under Lyne 25.06.2014
Hoey, Kate Labour Party Vauxhall 09.07.2014
Hunter, Mark Liberal Democrats Cheadle 21.10.2014
Huppert, Julian Liberal Democrats Cambridge 02.07.2014
Jackson, Glenda Labour Party Hampstead and Kilburn 18.06.2014
Kaufman, Gerald Labour Party Manchester Gorton 18.06.2014
Lazarowicz, Mark Labour Party Edinburgh North and Leith 23.06.2014
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 23.06.2014
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 24.06.2014
Long, Naomi Alliance Party Belfast East 02.07.2014
Love, Andrew Labour Party Edmonton 08.07.2014
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 17.06.2014
McCrea, Dr William Democratic Unionist Party South Antrim 29.10.2014
McDonnell, Alasdair Social Democratic and Labour Party Belfast South 25.06.2014
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 17.06.2014
McKechin, Ann Labour Party Glasgow North 05.11.2014
Meacher, Michael Labour Party Oldham West and Royton 01.09.2014
Mearns, Ian Labour Party Gateshead 26.06.2014
Morris, Grahame M Labour Party Easington 01.09.2014
Mulholland, Greg Liberal Democrats Leeds North West 01.09.2014
Osborne, Sandra Labour Party Ayr Carrick and Cumnock 24.06.2014
Pearce, Teresa Labour Party Erith and Thamesmead 16.06.2014
Reid, Alan Liberal Democrats Argyll and Bute 25.06.2014
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 17.06.2014
Ruddock, Joan Labour Party Lewisham Deptford 01.07.2014
Russell, Bob Liberal Democrats Colchester 19.06.2014
Sanders, Adrian Liberal Democrats Torbay 17.06.2014
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 17.06.2014
Sharma, Virendra Labour Party Ealing Southall 23.06.2014
Sheerman, Barry Labour Party Huddersfield 07.07.2014
Sheridan, Jim Labour Party Paisley and Renfrewshire North 17.07.2014
Smith, Robert Liberal Democrats West Aberdeenshire and Kincardine 06.11.2014
Stunell, Andrew Liberal Democrats Hazel Grove 16.06.2014
Teather, Sarah Liberal Democrats Brent Central 16.06.2014
Thornton, Mike Liberal Democrats Eastleigh 17.07.2014
Vaz, Keith Labour Party Leicester East 23.06.2014
Vaz, Valerie Labour Party Walsall South 09.07.2014
Walley, Joan Labour Party Stoke-on-Trent North 30.06.2014
Ward, David Liberal Democrats Bradford East 30.06.2014
Weir, Mike Scottish National Party Angus 21.10.2014
Williams, Hywel Plaid Cymru Arfon 18.06.2014
Williams, Mark Liberal Democrats Ceredigion 24.06.2014
Williams, Roger Liberal Democrats Brecon and Radnorshire 30.06.2014
Williamson, Chris Labour Party Derby North 03.09.2014
Wilson, Sammy Democratic Unionist Party East Antrim 01.09.2014
Wishart, Pete Scottish National Party Perth and North Perthshire 27.10.2014
Wood, Mike Labour Party Batley and Spen 03.09.2014
Wright, David Labour Party Telford 01.09.2014